Here are the countries that voted for and against the Gaza ceasefire resolution

Egypt’s ambassador to the United Nations, Osama Abdelkhalek, said the resolution was “the only guarantee to save innocent civilians”. He said there was a “disgusting” case of double standards associated with the Palestinians when minority countries stand against “international public opinion” and base their position on the notion that Israel has the right to defend itself.

Gilad Erdan, Israel’s ambassador to the United Nations, urged members to vote against the resolution, saying the ceasefire would mean “the survival of Hamas”.

Which countries voted against the resolution?

U.S. Ambassador Linda Thomas-Greenfield said that while the U.S. accepted some aspects of the latest resolution, it failed to condemn the October 7 Hamas attack that killed at least 1,200 people and took more than 200 hostages in Israel. . “Why is it so difficult?” she asked.

“We agree that the humanitarian situation is dire and requires urgent and sustained attention,” he said, adding that civilians must be protected as mandated under international humanitarian law.

Thomas-Greenfield said the week-long ceasefire and the release of dozens of hostages was the result of American diplomacy.

As the death toll in Gaza exceeds 18,400, according to the Gaza Health Ministry, the US has become increasingly isolated over Israel, as other governments respond to a shift in public sentiment on the conflict. Speaking at a fundraiser in Washington on Tuesday, President Biden said that the “indiscriminate bombing” that has taken place around the world has begun to erode Israel’s support.

Countries that voted against the resolution: Austria, Czech Republic, Guatemala, Israel, Liberia, Micronesia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, USA.

See also  Buckingham Palace has announced that King Charles III has been diagnosed with cancer

Which countries did not vote?

Britain – a US ally – has abstained from voting on previous Gaza resolutions General Assembly And UN – and Germany was among the 23 countries that did not vote.

Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelensky, who strongly supported Israel after Hamas’ October 7 attacks, also abstained from the latest vote.

Countries that did not vote: Argentina, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Malawi, Marshall Islands, Netherlands, Palau, Panama, Romania, Slovakia, South Sudan, Togo, Tonga, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay .

Which countries voted in favour?

Tuesday’s resolution calling for a cease-fire in Gaza received 153 votes. Major allies of the US – including Canada, Australia and Japan Didn’t vote before – Among more than 30 countries that have changed their status.

Several Asian countries that abstained in October voted in favor of the latest resolution, including India and South Korea. Muslim and Arab countries also expressed their support for Israel’s attack on Gaza.

South American countries such as Bolivia and Chile and Colombia, which cut diplomatic ties with Israel over the war in Gaza, voted in favor of the ceasefire.

Countries that voted for the resolution: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua-Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Botswana, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt , El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Congo, Russia, Rwanda , Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan , Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad-Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

See also  EAST PALESTINE, Ohio: Texas and Michigan officials complain water, soil from train wrecks were not told they would be transported into their jurisdictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *